Tags

,

I was never one that had to have a grand baby.  I thought if it happens that would be great, if it doesn’t that would be OK too.  I was content with life as it is now, two married children to wonderful spouses and a fantastic second marriage for me.  Life is great.

Then on Christmas, as we were all together, my son and his sweet wife announced that they are expecting a baby sometime in July.  I had no idea, not a clue and was very happily surprised.  I immediately thought it was going to be a boy.  I had nothing to based it on just my first inclination.  On the other hand, my husband suspected something almost as soon as they arrived a couple of days before they made the announcement and I was oblivious.

I thought I would start shopping for the baby the very next day, but to my surprise, the need to do that wasn’t there at all.  I was happy, but no overbearing about it.  I wondered if there was something wrong with me, as not wanting this child, being selfish, not knowing how to love etc.  But then, about 4-5 months into the pregnancy I started to feel that this new little baby, is going to be a big part of my life and I started to feel more excitement and joy for this new life.

That’s when I decided to crochet a blanket for the new baby.  At the time, I didn’t know the sex of the baby and decided to make one with a lot of happy colors. After doing some web search I found a pattern that I could just look at and replicate.  This is thanks for my mom for teaching me the basics of crocheting.  After starting it way to wide, I had to end it before it was big enough for a twin size bed.

IMG_6213

I liked making these so much, that I contacted the local Shriners Hospital for children and offered to make them small lap blankets for their patients.  They were very happy to accept.  As to date, I have donated 12 and have 4 more to donate, with more to come.

The new GBG (Grand Baby Girl) is to arrive anytime now.  I’m waiting for the day to meet her, hold her and experience the grandparent love that everyone told me about.

More to come…..

